Not Your Grandmother’s Matyroshka Dolls

Standard

(My ((Russian)) grandmother’s nesting dolls)

I was quite delighted to spot these delightful little updates to the traditional Matyroshka dolls whilst perusing a Russian Vogue during one of my periodical devouring sessions at Barnes & Nobles yesterday afternoon. Since, most unfortunately, I cannot read a lick of Russian, I was forced to dig into the internet to get a bit more info; and so, I found out that in honor of Russian Vogue‘s tenth anniversary, the magazine asked 30 designers to design a Matryoshka doll (aka nesting dolls) in their own design aesthetic. Here’s a peak at the results (you can see them all on Vogue):

Alena Akhmadullina, Stella McCartney

Emilio Pucci, Marc Jacobs

Konstantin Gayday, Dries Van Noten

and…..

In case these little darlings got you pondering up your very own design:

A DIY Matryoshka doll set!!

Bookmark and ShareAdd to Technorati Favorites

Comments are closed.