She walks in beauty like the swans

Standard

So, um, I kind of *love* these swan sunglasses in this “Wait for the Summer” photo shoot by photographer Fiona Quinn and styled by Courtney Sanders. The sunglasses are labeled first as the stylist’s own, and then by “Look Sharp”, a label which I haven’t been able to find out much about during my brief (but somewhat talented) google search frenzy. I managed to find some other novelty type swan sunglasses but none quite as fabulous as these. I just love how these have both black and white… you know very Black Swan-y. (Natalie Portman should totally own a pair, am I right?). I love how they manage to be both sunglasses but almost like a headpiece, like an almost but not quite tiara. And the model rocks them oh-so effortlessly.

And now a poem (from which I got this post’s name)((which a friend sent to me after seeing the aforementioned swan/ballet movie))(((and it seems nicely applicable to this post))):

Verdi and Postmodernism
She walks in beauty like the swans
that on a summer day do swarm
& crawls as deftly as a spoon
& spills & sprawls & booms.

These moments make a monument
then fall upon a broken calm
they fly into more quenchless rages
than Louis Quatorze or Napoleon.

If I could make one wish I might
overturn a state, destroy a kite
but with no wishes still I gripe
complaint’s a Godly-given right.
– Charles Bernstein

2 responses »

  1. I love the swan glasses. I know my daughter would look great in them (she looks great in everything). Very nice post/

Leave a Reply

