Svpply on the brain

Standard

So my long lost cats and kittens, I’ve become somewhat addicted to Svpply.com. It’s a fun place for me to plop ALL of the many things I find while cruising around the internet that I wish I could own, or imagine that it would be fun to own. It’s also fun because sometimes I think I don’t know what I’m liking or am into at the moment and if I just plop them all there it provides a nice overview to what I like. You can follow people to see what they’re picking and add it to your own list, see who likes what you like and find an astounding array of other absolutely fabulous stuff. So, basically, if you like stuff you’ll love this site. Especially if you can’t buy most of it, and putting it here makes it feel as though you own it in some deranged way. It’s very “this is what my taste may be if I actually had the money.” It’s also an interesting way to see what other people are liking. So, one (or two) nights while I was up adding things at whim I found my brain on hyper drive imagining all of the things I wish the site could do / how it could be made even better.

Such as:
- Adding things is freakishly easy, which I love. If you see something you like that’s already on the site, you can click the + sign and *poof* it’s added to your page. If it’s on another site, you have a button you can add to your browser that will make this pop up:

And you can select what categories it goes into/price/etc. Those things are searchable. Now, I think it would be even more handy if it it had a little more tagging as an option. Though that would require more effort I suppose on account of the users, and what’s great about the site is that it’s easy. But if, for example, you could choose in clothes between skirts / dresses / blouse / pants / etc, it would make it easier if you were looking for just skirts on Svpply. Adding in color tags would be cool, too. Or being able to tag an item with a more detailed subscription such as “ombre.” I say that because just last night my friend went all “omg, I want an ombre dress, help!” And I’m always up for the challenge, but typing “ombre” into the search field didn’t help too much. Which leads me to another desire:

- Making lists!: When my friend asked me to help her search for something specific, I was up for it. I always am. I usually end up sending along a bunch of links in such scenarios, which isn’t terribly pretty. I’ve suggested her joining the site but she hasn’t yet. Regardless, it would be super duper splendiferously awesome if you could make your own separate lists,  so that when I was compiling a list of products for her, I could make a little list on Svpply with all of the items which I could then send to her all nice and neat in a “Ombre dresses for Sara page”. She could see all of the items, and get to each item by clicking on the pretty picutes. And the magic of the site might enable her to find other things she likes more. And hey(!) maybe then she’d join up.  It’d be neat to be able to do this for all sorts of situations. Whether it’s a list I’m making for someone, or a list I’m making for myself, separate from my general “I want this” menagerie of delights. Could be fun for personal shoppers, stylists, too. The site is just (I find, thus far) a really easy and clean way of compiling products.

- Trends!: Like I mentioned, I find the site interesting because it helps me see what I’m into. I can look at the bulk of the stuff I’ve picked and maybe I’ll notice that I’ve added out a surprisingly similar grouping of skirts or something. Even if I wasn’t consciously aware of being interested in a certain style. The site is intriguing because you can see what other people are liking and latching onto… to a degree. I can imagine going forward that it could be even better.

With things like say, tagging, as I suggested previously, you could get a really clear picture on what type of shoes (for example) people are liking. Conceivably when it’s still pretty under the radar. Before people even have really processed their liking such things. I imagine going forward the site could be optimized by being able to track this info and offer it up as reports to companies. For the people using the site, it would just be an even better way of finding exactly what you’re hankering for, and it could be useful information to others. On not just what people are buying, but what they WANT to buy. It has the opportunity to be an even more fascinating look into what people are interested in and an opportunity for things to be made to fulfill those needs.

Those are just a few loose ideas. But I had to get them out, because thinking about how to make the site even better kept me up at night with excitement.

Feel free to check out my page here. Feel free to sign up and follow along if you are so inclined. :)

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

