Getting Inky

Standard

I first spotted Shane McAdams’ work a few years ago and became immediately enamored with his use of the drippy, exploded ink of everyday ballpoint pens. The images were filed away in my brain (this was, after all, before Pinterist) and I went on with my internet hithering and thithering, with McAdams’ lush, colorful work crossing my mind every once in a while when I spotted some other variety of pen ink related art.

And then!

New York Fashion Week happened (yay!) and then London started up, and found myself perusing the goodies that fashion week brings. Always a fan of Matthew Williamson‘s fantastic prints and patterns, I checked on his show as soon as it went up on Style.com. From the very first look, I noticed something familiar:

I knew I recognized the drippy inky prints, but I couldn’t recall the name or place of where I’d seen it; luckily, I’m a fantastic google-er. Soon enough, I realized that it was none other than Shane McAdams’, and it all clicked.

At first, I thought I had stumbled upon some super-sneaky/shady “inspiration.” I was all ready to pop up and break some “Caught ya!” news….

Pretty swiftly though, I found Matthew Williamson’s Facebook Page, where they listed McAdams’ work as an inspiration for the collection and also a collaborator. A very good thing which has been noted in much of the press regarding the show.

For this, the collection’s 15th year, Williamson referenced his early years as a designer and the enduring inspiration he’s found in India.

It is the colorful Holi Festival that the Spring 2013 collection looks to, incorporating McAdams’ colorful ink explosions to mimic the colored powders thrown during the festival, along with landscapes of Kerala and Tibet.

Some of McAdam’s prints appear to have been used mostly as is – art  translated beautifully to fabric –  while other fashions were adapted from multiple pieces and amended landscapes alterations. There’s no question, though, that they served as color and flow inspiration.

Personally, I loved it. And I’m kind of wondering if some precise-drippy ink DIYs will be popping up around the interwebs. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

