(Interpretations of a/my) Serious Dress

Standard

Ladies and gentlemen, there comes a time in a gal’s life when she ought to have some “serious clothes”… You know, business-y, interview-y… Things that say “I may be young, but You Should Totally Take Me Seriously”. Some people have a LOT of those clothes; however, I, my friends, do not – and the one’s I do, have historically generally been purchased at the insistence of my mother (the black slacks, the khaki pants, the button up shirts, a sensible blazer, the tweed pencil skirt (well, I did kind of like that one but it turned out to be itchy so I pimped it out to a thrift shop)). And you know what (!) those clothes pretty much always wind up hanging out neglected in the back of my closet (*this is where my mother shakes her head and sighs in the manner that almost always means and is often accompanied by, “Tilly….what am I going to do with you?”*).

I think over the years the family has maybe, possibly gotten over the irritation at my insistence that I have no desire to ever, ever own any generally standard interpretations of the: suit suit, khaki slacks, standard button up shirts (namely in white), etc. Or at least given up the expectation that these items will be worn specifically in the (serious) manner for which they are prescribed. Yes, the reaction that was once laden with a majority of irritation and frustration has been perhaps slowly infiltrated by at least a touch of amusement (thankfully, I am the lone starving artist in a family of more serious professions so my quirks are still kind of cute in addition to maybe a little exhausting. I’m sure it’d be a whole other story if all of us were struggling to make it in a creative field… in this *ahem* faltering economy)((Seriously, my brother has a HOUSE!!)).

All that aside… I can (sort of) admit that now that I am about to hit the apotheosis of “mid-twenties” I wouldn’t mind having a few pieces of clothes that are a little more serious. Because maybe every now and then the vintage-eclectic-eccentric-bohemian-classy-artistic look of my collegiate and immediately post-collegiate years doesn’t always cut it; and so I have been slowly been attempting to grow it up a touch. But. I have realized it would be better to approach serious in my own sort of way. And so, while milling around a handful of stores becoming overly disheartened by the lack of interesting (or interesting and affordable) clothes that I could pass as somewhat serious and/or professional in a way that wouldn’t make me feel like shouting while wearing that “MY SOUL IS DYYYYING!!!” I found this dress (at Banana Republic):

And I was like, OMG I think this is a could very well be a serious-esque dress that I don’t hate. And so I tried it on and get this- it FIT…perfectly. So I called my mom and relayed this information: I found a serious sort of dress that I don’t hate AND it actually fits AND (here’s the kicker) it was on sale. You could hear the (cautious) jubilation in her voice as she recounted this information to my stepdad and as they eagerly insisted that I Must Get It. The whole ordeal was probably not unlike their recent trip to South Africa where they went safari-ing and got to see animals interacting in their natural habitat and when they did something exciting you want to exclaim about it but you also have to be careful and not be *too* excited because then you might attract attention and the animal will notice you and Stop And Run Away (or charge at you.. and you definitely DON’T want that). So, they were excited but not too excited and the result of this subtle dance of praising the pretty seriousness (but not TOO much) and casually extolling the virtues of having a Nice Professional (or as close as I’d get) Dress I was successfully encouraged to by the dress.

Of course, it also happens that while in the dressing room I started layering on top of the dress the other things I had worn that day, and rationalized the seriousness of the dress with the notion that I could play with it and make it so much MORE. And, darlings, I got all excited about my serious dress on the way home thinking about everything I could do to make it even more interesting and this happened:







And of course, this is only the beginning! There’s also layering it with tights and shoes and/or boots, jewelry and headwear, etc. The possibilities are really endless, y’know. Moral of the story, break out your own “serious” clothes and have fun with them. You can get some interesting additional “serious looks” or turn those serious clothes in a more, fun, creative, going out looks. Stretch your imagination (and *ahem* your wallet (and wardrobe)).

Think out of the box, cupcakes, and have fun!

Bookmark and ShareAdd to Technorati Favorites

One response »

  1. Pingback: That 70’s blouse (what?!) « …thoroughly modern tilly…

Leave a Reply

