Ooooh: A packrat’s delight or nightmare?

Standard

Check out this “transformer-shelf” created by Amsterdam based designer Martin Sammer. When closed, it looks like a regular sort of storage unit, however (in practical terms) it opens into a rather complex interior that allows you to customize your storage options… hold all sorts of different objects or (in our favorite artist/designer terms) encourage you to interact with the object and became a part of it’s shape evolution, allowing you to become it’s designer so-to-speak as there are a myriad of different ways in which it can be interpreted.

I think it’s intriguing from both the practical and artsy person standpoint. Because I:
a): Have a lot of stuff… And an object that is not totally huge but has lots of little nooks and crannies would enable me to stick A Whole Lot Of Stuff in it, which is a really exciting prospect because I’m still looking around my quasi-newly-moved-into apartment trying to figure out where to put everything. I could see myself enjoying tossing it all into this (*ahem* maybe just so that I don’t have to look at it anymore)… Granted, it may be rather complicated so I could also see myself not remembering where in this labyrinthian storage device I put all those random objects. Not that that’s a totally far cry from how things are now (laughs awkwardly)….
b): As a designer I really, really enjoy customizable things that I can play with. It’s so much more fun that way! And I really like things that encourage others to do the same. Interact with your stuff, yo!

via Gizmodo

Bookmark and ShareAdd to Technorati Favorites

Comments are closed.