Color my world

Standard

Uncanny that I stumble upon this, the new art installation located on the ceiling of the UN’s Human Rights and Alliance of Civilizations Room in Geneva, Switzerland, immediately after I babble on about how obsessed with color and texture I am. It took artist Miquel Barcelo over a year and more than 100 tons of paints and pigment to create the striking piece that’s arousing controversy for the large amount of money that was spent in it’s creation (approximately 23 million US dollars) because it has been speculated that some funds may have been diverted from efforts to alleviate poverty and boost health care in poor countries. However, the Spanish Ministry insists that this is not the case in the least. On its inspiration, Barecelo states: “On a day of immense heat in the middle of the Sahel desert, I recall with vivacity the mirage of an image of the world dripping toward the sky”.

Personally, I think it’s exquisitely awe-inspiring what with it’s dreamy, fanciful yet organic cave-like feel. (I would *LOVE* to have a ceiling like that/this!). It’s beautiful to see how all of the colors work so magnificently together, the way that we humans ought to with the palette of our cultures. I’d bet that that’s the sort of sentiment Mr. Barecelo hopes to inspire in all of the world leaders and representatives sitting below.

via notcot, joyengine, Life in the Fast Lane, Times Online

Bookmark and ShareAdd to Technorati Favorites

Comments are closed.