Berber Soepboer (should totally be my design BFF)

Standard

Check it out: A color it in yourself dress! How exciting!! (I wonder if the ink is washable to you could color it in over and over again? Might lead to trouble, however, should you get stuck in the rain. Could be pretty, though, if you only had bits colored in and the color dripped in a quasi-watercolor-y fashion into the parts you left black and white.)

If you’ve spent much time around me, especially and particularly when discussing clothing design or, well, design in general, you’d know that I thoroughly passionate about customizable/transformable/put your own spin on it design items; be they interior (like minimodern’s  color-it-in wallpaper I gushed about last June), or fashion-related as I discovered in all of Berber Soepbar‘s work. In reference to her work, she states:

“I especially design clothing which can be worn in different ways, so the owner can make choices in how to wear the cloth.

Life exists of many choices based on expectations, desire and the available time.

When everything is still possible the world seems an incredible place.

I translate these endless possibilities in my design.

A start to realize the ultimate dream in daily life.”

This dress is comprised of buttoned together pieces of fabric. The design allows all pieces to be interchangeable so you can create your own look by mixing patterns. The patterns for this and the previous dress were created by the talented Michiel Schuurman.

This is one piece, length, from her “Doable Dresses” collection which also includes permutations of silhouette, color, volume, size, and decoration.

I’m always, always a fan of other interpretations of transformable clothes – a running theme through my own work. Personally, I think you can do it with almost all of your clothes with a little creativity and imagination (i.e this post on the many ways to wear a “serious dress”)((p.s: I’m definitely planning a similar post regarding a favorite and constantly worn dress of mine): however, sometimes, a lot of us need (or would at least be helped by) a garment that sort of openly offers and almost requires your interaction to get the ball rolling. I think a whole new world is opened up when you can start seeing your clothes and closet as being open to interpretation.

As in: you don’t always have to wear everything exactly in the manner for which it is prescribed.

And, because I’m perhaps odd and definitely optimistic, I like to hope that if you can start to see your clothes that way, well, who knows where else you’ll find yourself applying that mentality. Yep, I’m a clothes as art and life lessons kind of ladybird.

(saw the color-it-in goodness on Yatzer)

Bookmark and Share add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

