Eye love: Saturated Surreality

Standard

I love magazines. I used to buy them all gleefully wily-nily, devour them, display their awesomeness on the coffee table, and then eventually they’d slowly start to form a mountain in my room/living room/somewhere. Yeah, I’m not so good at throwing them away. So. I hang out at the bookstore, and I devour them there. It saves me money and space, except for the fact that so many times I wind up taking pictures of the pages with my iPhone, and that doesn’t necessarily capture the color correctly. What I really need is a magic portable scanner. Something like if the iPad were capable of being able to scan something by placing it over the screen would be ideal. Luckily, these pictures are from New York Magazine, and those dolls put just about the whole thing online. *Warm fuzzies for them*. So, when I saw these pics this afternoon, huddled in a new spot because some people stole my usual nook(s) (grr), and felt all fluttery happy because of the magnificent colors of artist Hunt Slonem‘s amazingly huge Hell’s kitchen habitat (the Lincoln’s and bunnies are some of his signature works)((aren’t those bunnies freakin’ adorable?)) and wanted to share it’s technicolor wonderlandness I knew I could. I just love how bold and bright and saturated all of the colors are, and how the light creates variations of them. I love the collection of bunnies, how they don’t take themselves too seriously, but in their nice frames, and all of their lovely colors that all go so nicely together they just create such a nice.. look…visual texture…something.

(An aside: So. Yesterday, when I was writing about Mary Temple’s work I had an idea. And it occurred to me again when I was looking at all of Mr. Slonem’s framed art covered walls. What if someone framed their windows! Assuming you had a killer view, wouldn’t it be beautiful? Whether it was subtle and the same color as the walls, just with some particularly frame-y details, or whether it was, well, anything a real frame comes in, golden, antiqued, whathaveyou. It could be a wonderful way to draw focus to a really lovely view, or particularly awesome curtains/screens/window decorations. Yeah? Anyone? In theory at least?)

Ahem. Mr. Slonem, as it turns out, loves stuff. The title of the NY Mag article being “Living with a Thousand Best Friends,” in reference to his preferred state of clutter and all. He seems to love animal and quirk, and so I’m thinking he may like French artist Martine Roch‘s work. I’ve had her flickr stream hanging out in a browser tab coincidentally right next to the NY Mag article, and it kind of feels like I should show them together:

Martine loves animals, always had. She says that she’s been making them “talk” since childhood and onwards.

For her images she uses antique photos she’s culled from scouring flea markets and photographs she’s taken of animals herself.

I love the quirky way in which the animals are given life. It creates a sort of technicolor surreal world where anything is possible.

Kind of like the way you imagined life was when you were a kid. Animals could talk and think and behave like humans, you could be transported to other worlds through closets and secret passageways. There was so much about life you didn’t understand that it was easy to mash things together in your imagination to fill in the blanks. That feeling, that facet of curious thought seems to fade in many as you get older and become aware of the realities of the “real” world. I like that these two artists maintain that curiosity and enthusiasm. Whether creating it in art, or creating your living space to maintain and express that feeling of possibility, dreaminess, and whimsy is a place, a feeling I think we all seek to get back to every now and then.

Sometimes bizarre can be awesome.

Bookmark and Share add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

