The Grey Area

Standard

This portion of The Grey Area choreographed by David Dawson captured my attention a good few years ago and mesmerized me completely. I’d saved it as a favorite, but at some point in time it mysteriously disappeared and I’ve hunted for it here and there ever since. So I was relieved to have finally found it again, so that I could watch it and become drawn into the dancers incredibly fluid and organic movements once more. And it was just as enchanting as I remembered, this dialogue between two people who just happen to be classically trained ballet dancers. What I love about this piece is the way that it sort of strips away the hardcore, fine-tuned, precise sort of technique of classical ballet and turns it into a modern, incredibly organic, and emotive sort of piece. It’s almost as if a relationship was taken and it’s conversations were stripped of words so that there was only the movement to express yourself. As though you are watching a conversation/interaction between lovers.. the agreements, the arguments, the familiarity, the making up, the indecision, the soft words with the mute button on. And I love how they keep dancing as the curtains slowly descend, reminding that though we’re usually given an “end” to a story, it still goes on (somewhere).

If you enjoyed this, and even if you just enjoy ballet/dance and/or are curious about it and the process behind the creation of a dance, I would highly recommend the video on the making of the 3 part ballet. I watched all three portions (each 10 minutes) of the documentary and enjoyed it immensely. It’s very well done. Portions one, two, and three. Go!

Bookmark and Share add to Technorati Favorites

One response »

  1. So glad you found it ! Your words and descriptions were so spot on to this experience. You felt the emotions and it was so hauntingly beautiful, I didn’t want it to end. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

