Rock that rainy day: Pare*Umbrellas

Standard

Spring has arrived, sunshine, rain showers, and… allergies. Oh, heavens, how the allergies are killing me. I’m usually not a huge fan of rainy days (save for yesterday ((and from the looks of it a little later on today, too)) when the rain put a damper on the pollen-fest that’s been rampant) what with all of the walking I do here in the city, what with all of the people crammed into small spaces, and well… I can go on and on. The problem with spring and the coming summer is, of course, the blaring sun which I commented on last year while I pondered the possible joys of carrying around a lady-like parasol. Some of the examples even happened to be umbrellas! Double duty! Yeah! And it’s true that a pretty umbrella adds a little bit of pep to a gray day. And just today I spotted pare*umbrella‘s awesomely lovely umbrellas meant to protect you from gray, wet days as well as super sunshine-y ones.

The Seattle based company was inspired by the fashionable nature of umbrellas in Japan, which happens to be where the artist I’m featuring along-side the umbrellas is from. Jun lives in Tokyo and I’ve admired her work for some time. When I saw the pare*umbrellas, I remembered seeing a lot of umbrellas in Jun’s work, and then was doubly delighted once I read pare’s background info and learned they were inspired by Japan’s fashionable rain gear.

Lovely, aren’t they (both the umbrellas and the art)? If you happen to want to get your hands on one of the pare*umbrellas, hurry on over to their site: the umbrellas being sold only between April 15th – May 18th! (also, I didn’t feature them all, and a few come in different colorways, so check them out).

(Throw on a pretty fluffy skirt, pull on a pair of rain boots, grab your nice big umbrella and dance in the rain!)

And if you want to see more of Jun’s work click right here. (heads up, the site is all in Japanese).

Bookmark and Share add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

