Flying Flowers (and the trees in your veins)

Standard

I’ve got to say that I absolutely love this computer chip-ified butterfly “e-Lepidoptera” by Ludo in Paris.

I’ve always had a bit of a thing for butterflies. I adore gadgetry, too – especially when it takes such a beautiful form.

Did you know that recently researchers (Scientist Isao Shimoyama of the University of Tokyo and Hiroto Tanaka of Harvard University) were able to actually create a little mechanical butterfly?

This whole new understanding of how butterflies fly could mean big things for biomimicry in the field of aerodynamics.

But that is not why I’ve always loved butterflies so much. Of course, their natural beauty is astounding and inspiring:

(Each of these pretty critters are from The Evolution Store)((Seriously, you can forget that these colors and these color combinations come in nature))

No, I think what entranced me so much about them growing up was the thought of metamorphosis. How a dear little caterpillar hunkers down into a chrysalis and emerges a colorful flying creature.

Some times people need to do this, too. Not everyone was born with their wings apparent, but rest assured they’re there. Some people are against the cocooning sort of phase, be it in ourselves or in others. I feel like I know a lot of people feeling stuck and lost and unsure what to do with themselves right now, and it’s so easy to get discouraged and/or depressed. But why not think of it as phase where you’re just working out how to find your wings. And then, you’ll fly.

And on a sort of similar note (at least if you’re in my head)..

Do you remember my post in January about Roberto Kusterle’s beautiful photography? And how I talk about imagining myself as a tree, of sort? Well, Andrew Carnie, is a devotee of both science and art, and creates some lovely pieces of work that manage to merge the nature outside (trees) with the nature of our insides (nerves and such). And it’s surprisingly lovely how they can be so similar.

He’s got a show in London through September 10, 2010 if you’re local.

(Also, *ahem*, the term “Flying Flower” comes from a favorite childhood film of mine that began my intrigue, I believe, into butterflies)

Bookmark and Share add to Technorati Favorites

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

