The Dying Swan

Standard

Isn’t Anna Pavlova lovely? (I tried some magic code to shorten the video so that it would start just when she began to dance, but apparently the code doesn’t like me because it refuses to work. Oh bother)

I was watching a short clip of an interview (long ((enough)) after her death, I believe) with someone who knew who Anna well. The duo ruminated on how she was such a wonderful and unique and captivating dancer, and they touched upon her limited technique and how considering the “dancer’s of today” she might never have made it so big.  It had to be mentioned, and though they went back to remark on her passion, her presence, and how there was something different and ineffable about her performance, I couldn’t help but think, how true.

The thought occurs to me most every time I look at dancers of the past. The bar of technique and athleticism and perfection has risen to such an incredible degree throughout the years. I find it dually wonderful and a little sad. Perfection. Passion. What if you have the passion but not the perfection? What if you have the perfection but not the passion? What if there are scores of Anna Pavlova’s (in any art form or field) held back by a lack of textbook all-around perfection? And, while I’m wielding a double edged sword (being a perfectionist and all), what if we’re missing something really great by only looking for “perfect”. Doesn’t that, after a while, get a little boring?

Bookmark and Share add to Technorati Favorites

2 responses »

  1. You hit the nail on the head. Did we lose our value of uniqueness? Pavlova was one of those dancers that I aspired to growing up. Her ” dying swan” was so touchinging beautiful , I can remember crying watching her.

  2. The photos of Pavlova are absolutely lovely. I agree that by today’s standards, Pavlova may have fallen short in the technique department. But how lucky we are that she came along anyway! To me, Anna Pavlova was technically perfect in the sense that she could move her audience emotionally. She was a dancer who simply loved to dance…….

Leave a Reply

